top of page



The Anglican Church of Canada and the Diocese of Toronto are governed by a set of rules called canons. These canons are designed to standardize our administrative practice and, to some degree, our liturgy and polity. The canons can be found on the Diocesan website click here. Alongside the canons, we must adhere to Canada Revenue Agency's rules for charitable organizations.


At present, a Diocesan appointed Parish Administrator is overseeing the governance of St. John's.


Parish Administrator: Philip Conliffe

The Wardens’ team is focusing on the spiritual side of the church and our members.


People's Warden: John Spragge

Rector's Warden: Greg Los

Deputy People's Warden: Lisa Rumble

Deputy Rector's Warden: Sheila Crummey

The Wardens and Parish Administrator can be reached at

Elected Positions

Lay Delegate to Synod: Sue Ferguson

Alternate Lay Delegate to Synod: Cheryl Atkins

Youth Delegate to Synod: Julia Marrocco

Alternate Youth Delegate to Synod: Alie Rutty


Parish Council 

Meeting monthly to discuss parish matters, the Parish Council serves as an advisory group to the Priest-in-Charge, parish administrator, and churchwardens, and also acts as a way to spread information through the parish. Representatives from a number of committees and ministry areas sit on council, along with some members-at-large. Everyone at St. John's is welcome to come to these meetings, to ask questions, and to bring ideas and feedback.

Priest's Appointments

Head of Altar Guild: May Webster

Social Justice Chair: Rev. Evelyn Butler

Tech Committee Chair: Alan Harnum

Wardens’ Appointments

Property Chair: Alison Smiley

Communications Chair: Susan Rynasko

Screening Coordinator: John Spragge

Stewardship Committee Chair: Andrea Rutty

Fundraising co-chair (campaigns): Jim Crummey

Partnerships co-chair (events): Andrea Rutty

Hospitality co-chair: Sheila Crummey

Environmental co-chair: Rev. Evelyn Butler

bottom of page